Main branches of civil law

Explain five main branches of civil law

Main branches of civil law

  • Law of contract: It imposes an obligation to the parties involved to see what they have performed their promises, failure to do so attracts legal implications.
    This usually involves compensating the aggrieved once the party responsible has been found liable for the act or omission.
  • Law of torts: a tort is a civil wrong, an act which causes harm to a determinate person whether intentionally or not, not being a breach of duty arising out of a person relationship or contract and which is either contrary to the law or an omission of a specific legal duty.
  • Law of property: this is a law concerned with a bundle of rights a person may have on land. Such rights may be exclusive or otherwise. It defines the range of functions a person may exercise in a given situation at a given time.
  • Law of marriage: It is the legal union of couple as spouses. The basic elements of a marriage are;
    • The parties’ legal ability to marry each other
    • Mutual consent of the parties
    • A marriage contract as required by law.
  • Law of succession: Comprises those legal rules or norms which regulate the devolution of a deceased person’s estate upon one or more persons. Thus the law of succession is concerned with what happens to a deceased person’s estate after his death.

Share through

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *